Emma Watson in Davos: Gender equality would be the ‘single biggest stimulus to the economy’
28.12.2016

large_4hwoaartlfeyuznanwi-2hj_b58ojouzuusa-ug_wkk

We will never achieve gender equality unless everyone – girls, boys, women, men – are involved. That, in a nutshell, was Emma Watson’s message in Davos, where she came to launch UN Women’s new HeforShe website.

The UN Women Goodwill Ambassador was interviewing 10 male CEOs who have committed to advancing gender parity. The companies also released data on their gender diversity figures – something Watson described as a “big deal”.

Speaking to McKinsey CEO Dominic Barton about his company’s latest findings on gender parity, she noted that full female participation in the workforce could boost GDP by $28 trillion within a decade, the “single biggest stimulus to the economy”.

It’s clear from 10 years of Forum research on the gender gap that some progress has been made. Around the world, almost a quarter of a billion more women are in the workforce today than a decade ago. In many countries, more women are graduating from university than men.

And yet the findings of the latest Global Gender Gap report are disappointing. The gender gap across health, education, economic opportunity and politics has closed by only 4% in the past 10 years. The economic gap has closed by just 3% and if progress continues at the same slow pace, it will take another 118 years for women to be earning the same as men.

Closing the gap will mean bringing together leaders from government, business and beyond to remove the obstacles that hold women back. The World Economic Forum’s Gender Task Forces are doing just that in Mexico, Turkey, Japan and the Republic of Korea, aiming to narrow the economic gender gap by up to 10% in three years. As Rick Goings, CEO of the company Tupperware Brands, put it:

hy9wxchtqgqqgpwzsdwgbasqdt-17xdyc7nmadful3g

Tupperware Brands provides jobs for women in emerging markets. Writing in an earlier article for Agenda, Rick Goings wrote of the “ripple effect” through families and communities when women can get ahead at work. “In Indonesia, our largest market, we have seen women increase their income level by a factor of 75. Whereas men are prone to think ‘me’, women have a mindset of ‘we’,” he wrote.

Later today at Davos, Melinda Gates, Sheryl Sandberg and Justin Trudeau will discuss how to make further progress towards gender parity, in a session you can follow on livestream here.

The Annual Meeting is taking place in Davos from 20 to 23 January, under the theme “Mastering the Fourth Industrial Revolution”.

Written by

Stéphanie Thomson, Editor, World Economic Forum

© THE CONDOMINIUM UNITS ARE NOT OWNED, DEVELOPED OR SOLD BY, OR UNDER COMMON OWNERSHIP OR CONTROL WITH, HARD ROCK HOLDINGS LIMITED, HARD ROCK LIMITED, HARD ROCK HOTEL LICENSING, INC. OR HARD ROCK CAFÉ INTERNATIONAL (USA) INC., OR ANY OF THEIR AFFILIATES (COLLECTIVELY, “HARD ROCK”). INTERNATIONAL HOSPITALITY SERVICES AG (“LICENSEE”) USES THE HARD ROCK TRADEMARKS UNDER A LICENSE AGREEMENT, WHICH LICENSE AGREEMENT MAY BE TERMINATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS THEREOF. THE LICENSE AGREEMENT IS LIMITED IN DURATION AND THERE IS NO GUARANTY OR OTHER ASSURANCE OF ANY KIND THAT THE HOTEL WILL CONTINUE TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH THE HARD ROCK SYSTEM FOR ANY PERIOD OF TIME. CONDOMINIUM UNIT OWNERS WILL NOT OWN ANY INTEREST IN THE LICENSE AGREEMENT, IN HARD ROCK OR IN ANY AGREEMENT BETWEEN HARD ROCK AND LICENSEE. THE CONDOMINIUM UNITS PURCHASED BUT NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE RENTAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM WILL NOT BE PART OF, OR OPERATED AS PART OF THE HOTEL, ALTHOUGH SUCH UNITS WILL BE LOCATED WITHIN THE SAME BUILDINGS AS THE CONDOMINIUM UNITS THAT ARE PART OF THE HOTEL. THE CONDOMINIUM UNIT OWNERS AND PURCHASERS OF THE CONDOMINIUM UNITS WILL OBTAIN NO RIGHT TO ANY LICENSE AGREEMENT OR TO ANY HARD ROCK TRADEMARKS AND WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO REFER TO OR UTILIZE ANY HARD ROCK TRADEMARKS IN CONNECTION WITH ANY RESALE, RENTAL OR OTHER USE OF THEIR CONDOMINIUM UNIT. HARD ROCK HAS NOT PARTICIPATED AND WILL NOT PARTICIPATE IN ANY MANNER IN THE SALE AND MARKETING OF THE CONDOMINIUM UNITS AND HAS NOT AND WILL NOT ACT AS A BROKER OR AGENT IN CONNECTION WITH ANY CLOSING. HARD ROCK HAS NOT IN ANY WAY PASSED ON THE MERITS OF, OR THE MATTERS SET FORTH IN, THIS ADVERTISEMENT OR ANY MARKETING MATERIALS.

Emma Watson in Davos: Gleichstellung der Geschlechter wäre der "einzelne größte Stimulus für die Wirtschaft"
28.12.2016

large_4hwoaartlfeyuznanwi-2hj_b58ojouzuusa-ug_wkk

Gleichstellung der Geschlechter werden wir nie erreichen, es sei denn, alle – Mädchen, jungen, Frauen, Männer – engagieren. Das war in einer Nussschale, Watsons Nachricht in Davos, woher sie kam, UN Women neue HeforShe Website zu starten.

Der UN-Frauen-Goodwill-Botschafter wurde 10 männliche CEOs interviewt, die für die Weiterentwicklung der Geschlechterparität begangen haben. Die Unternehmen auch veröffentlicht Daten über ihr Geschlecht Vielfalt gestalten – etwas, was Watson als ein “Big Deal beschrieben”.

Im Gespräch mit McKinsey CEO Dominic Barton über neueste Erkenntnisse seines Unternehmens auf der Geschlechterparität, bemerkte sie, dass volle weibliche Erwerbsbeteiligung BIP, von $ 28 Billionen innerhalb eines Jahrzehnts, “einzelne größte Stimulus für die Wirtschaft steigern konnte”.

Es ergibt sich aus 10 Jahren Forum Forschung auf die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern, die einige Fortschritte erzielt wurden. Auf der ganzen Welt sind fast ein Viertel von 1 Milliarde mehr Frauen in der Belegschaft heute als vor zehn Jahren. In vielen Ländern sind mehr Frauen als Männer von der Universität Abschluss.

Und doch sind die Ergebnisse der neuesten Global Gender Gap Report enttäuschend. Die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern in Gesundheit, Bildung, wirtschaftliche Chancen und Politik hat nur 4 % in den letzten 10 Jahren geschlossen. Die wirtschaftliche Kluft hat nur 3 % geschlossen und wenn Fortschritte in der gleichen langsamen Tempo weitergeht, dauert es weitere 118 Jahre für Frauen, Männer zu verdienen.

Die Lücke zu schließen bedeutet Zusammenführung von Staats-und Regierungschefs aus Regierung, Wirtschaft und darüber hinaus zum Entfernen der Hindernisse, die Frauen zurück. Das World Economic Forum Gender Task Forces machst genau das in Mexiko, Türkei, Japan und der Republik Korea, mit dem Ziel, die wirtschaftlichen Unterschiede zwischen um bis zu 10 % in drei Jahren zu verengen. Rick Goings, CEO der Firma Tupperware Brands hat es so ausgedrückt:

hy9wxchtqgqqgpwzsdwgbasqdt-17xdyc7nmadful3g

Tupperware Brands bietet Arbeitsplätze für Frauen in den emerging Markets. Schreiben in einem früheren Artikel für Agenda, Rick Goings schrieb über “Ripple-Effekt” durch Familien und Gemeinschaften wenn Frauen am weiterkommen können arbeiten. “In Indonesien, unser größter Markt, haben wir Frauen, die Höhe ihrer Einnahmen zu erhöhen, um einen Faktor von 75 gesehen. Während Männer anfällig sind für “mich” denken, Frauen eine Mentalität des “wir” haben”, schrieb er.

Laufe des Tages in Davos diskutieren Melinda Gates, Sheryl Sandberg Justin Trudeau und wie erstelle ich weitere Fortschritte bei der Gleichstellung, in einer Sitzung können Sie auf Livestream hier folgen.

Annual Meeting statt in Davos von 20 bis 23 Januar unter dem Motto “Mastering the Fourth Industrial Revolution”.

Geschrieben von:

Stéphanie Thomson, Editor, World Economic Forum

© DIE WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN SIND WEDER EIGENTUM, NOCH WERDEN SIE ENTWICKELT ODER VERKAUFT DURCH, ODER UNTER GEMEINSAMEM EIGENTUM ODER KONTROLLE VON HARD ROCK HOLDINGS LIMITED, HARD ROCK LIMITED, HARD ROCK HOTEL LICENSING, INC. ODER HARD ROCK CAFE INTERNATIONAL (USA) INC. ODER IRGENDWELCHER IHRER GESELLSCHAFTEN (GEMEINSAM ALS "HARD ROCK" BEZEICHNET). INTERNATIONAL HOSPITALITY SERVICES AG ("LIZENZNEHMER") VERWENDET DIE HARD ROCK MARKEN IM RAHMEN EINER LIZENZVEREINBARUNG. DIESE LIZENZVEREINBARUNG KANN GEMÄSS DEN DARIN ENTHALTENEN BESTIMMUNGEN UND BEDINGUNGEN BEENDET WERDEN. DIE LIZENZVEREINBARUNG IST IN DER DAUER BESCHRÄNKT UND ES GIBT KEINE GARANTIE ODER ANDERE SICHERHEITEN / GEWÄHRLEISTUNGEN IRGENDWELCHER ART, DASS DAS HOTEL FÜR IRGENDEINEN ZEITRAUM AUCH WEITERHIN MIT DEM HARD ROCK SYSTEM VERBUNDEN IST. EIGENTÜMER DER WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN WERDEN KEINE EIGENEN ANTEILE AN DER LIZENZVEREINBARUNG, AN HARD ROCK ODER AN EINER VEREINBARUNG ZWISCHEN HARD ROCK UND DEM LIZENZNEHMER BESITZEN. DIE WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN, DIE ERWORBEN WURDEN ABER NICHT IN DEM VERMIETUNGSPROGRAMM BETEILIGT SIND, WERDEN NICHT TEIL DES HOTELS SEIN ODER ALS TEIL DES HOTELS BETRIEBEN, OBWOHL SOLCHE EINHEITEN IN DEN GEBÄUDEN ALS TEIL DES HOTELS INTEGRIERT SEIN WERDEN. DIE BESITZER DER WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN UND DIE KÄUFER DER WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN ERHALTEN KEIN RECHT AUF EINE LIZENZVEREINBARUNG ODER AUF EINE HARD ROCK HANDELSMARKE UND ES IST IHNEN NICHT ERLAUBT, IN VERBINDUNG MIT IRGENDEINEM WEITERVERKAUF, DER VERMIETUNG ODER NUTZUNG DER WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN AUF HARD ROCK MARKEN ZU VERWEISEN ODER DIESE ZU VERWENDEN: HARD ROCK HAT NICHT UND WIRD AUCH NICHT AN IRGENDEINEM VERKAUF UND DER VERMARKTUNG DER WOHNEINHEITEN DER ANLAGE MIT EIGENTUMSWOHNUNGEN TEILNEHMEN UND WIRD NICHT ALS BROKER ODER VERMITTLER IN VERBINDUNG MIT EINER SCHLIESSUNGEN AUFTRETEN. HARD ROCK HAT IN KEINER WEISE DIE WERTE DIESER WERBUNG ODER IRGENDWELCHER MARKETING MATERIALIEN ODER DIE DARIN UMGESETZTEN INHALTE ÜBERTRAGEN

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen die bestmögliche Erfahrung auf unserer Website zu bieten. Wenn Sie fortfahren, ohne Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen in Ihrem Browser zu ändern, gehen wir davon aus, dass Sie der Verwendung von Cookies auf diesem Gerät zustimmen.